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Second Hand Low 
by Ed Rawlinson 

 

Beginning bridge players are often taught bridge slogans such as “eight ever-nine never”, 

“second hand low”, and “never underlead an ace in a suit contract (opening lead)”.  Slogans are 

good rules, but there are usually exceptions.  This tutorial will explore “second hand low”.  The 

reason to look at this rule is that violating the rule is the most common mistake I see 

inexperienced players make.  I’ve also seen players with 2,000 points make the same mistake 

when they should know better. Why are so many players failing to play second hand low when 

they should?   

• They never heard the rule. 

• They’ve never had an explanation of why it works 

• They don’t stop to think about it. 

• They are terrified of the prospect of “going to bed with their ace”.  

 

So the purpose of this tutorial is to help you understand the reasoning behind the rule, increase 

your “card sense”, and also know that there are exceptions and what they are.  

 

Let’s start with the  worst violation I’ve ever seen.   

South was playing a spade contract.  West led a club, won by declarer.  

Dummy had two trumps and a singleton diamond.   At trick 2 declarer leads 

the ♦4.  West, who apparently thought that the defense was only entitled to 

one diamond trick and that “aces are meant for cashing”, played the ace.  

This was the full diamond distribution: 

Had West played low (or the 8), East would win and lead a 

trump.  Declarer would win and ruff a diamond but would be 

left with at least one additional diamond loser.  Since West 

wasted her ace, declarer subsequently ruffed a diamond, 

cashed the king, 9, and 6 of diamonds.  By cashing the ♦A, West unnecessarily “set up” South’s 

K.  In this example, it should have been an easy decision for West to play low.  There are many 

other situations in which the decision is not so easy.  

 

Second hand low “problems” can arise either for the defense or for declarer.  Consider the 

following situations confronting a declarer in a 3NT contract.  LHO leads the ♠2.   

Dummy 

Declarer 

A. ♠-J3 

     ♠-AK4 

B.  ♠-J3 

      ♠-A104 

C.  ♠-Q4 

     ♠-A10 

D.  ♠-Q3 

      ♠-A54 

E.  ♠-Q54 

     ♠-A3 

F.  ♠-A93 

     ♠-K104 

A.  Play the Jack.  It’s the only chance to win 3 tricks.  

B.  Play the 3.  This guarantees two tricks.  If you play the Jack and it’s covered, you have no 

guarantee of a second trick.  

C.  It’s a guess.  If you think LHO led from the K, play the Q; otherwise play low.  

D.  Play the Queen.  It’s the only chance to win two spades.  

E.  It depends on the circumstances.  For example, if you have 4 sure losers in other suits, you 

should play the queen.  On the other hand, if you can afford to lose one spade and may prevent 

LHO from getting back on lead (to lead through the Qx), you should play low.   

F.  Playing low from dummy creates the potential for winning 3 tricks in the suit (if the missing 

honors are in separate hands).  However, there may be circumstances in which it is correct to 

                ♦-7 

♦-A832 

                ♦-4??? 

                 ♦-7 

♦-A832              ♦-QJ10 

                 ♦-K9654 
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play the Ace at trick one.  For example, the ♠K may be the only entry to long-suit tricks in 

declarer’s hand.  

 

Note that, if the declarer was in a suit contract, the correct plays would be the same in A, B, C, 

and F.  In D and E, playing the Q is the only chance to avoid a spade loser.  

 

In G, the contract is 3N.  The 

opening lead is the ♣4.  Declarer has 

two losers outside of clubs.  In H, the 

contract is 4♠. The opening lead is the ♦4.  What is your play at trick 1 in each case? 

 

G.  Play low.  West has K976 and East has A54.  If you play the 10, East wins the A and returns 

the suit.  When you play the J, West ducks.  When East gets in later, he will lead the third club 

through your Q6 into West’s A9.  If you play low at trick 1, you will have the Q-J-10 remaining, 

with two sure winners.  

H.  Play low.  East wins the Q and returns a heart.  You win and pull trumps ending in declarer’s 

hand.  Now finesse in diamonds to pitch a heart loser.  The ♦9 was an important card (West had 

K1086).   

 

In I and J, the contract is 

3N, and the OL is the ♦3.   

 

In I, the odds favor playing low from dummy.  Playing low works when West led from K10xx or 

Q10xx, while playing the Jack works only when West led from KQxx.  In J, play the Jack.  It’s 

the only chance to win two tricks.  In K, if you want to discourage East from leading a second 

diamond, you can either play an honor from dummy and small from your hand OR you can play 

low from dummy and the 10 from your hand.  If you play low from both hands, East will know 

you have the 10 and that it’s safe to cash a second diamond.  

 

  

Making “second-hand” decisions is easier for declarer than for defenders simply because 

declarer gets to see both of the partnership hands.  Defenders often must guess about partner’s or 

declarer’s holdings, although clues are sometimes available from the bidding, declarer’s play, or 

partner’s signals.  A useful principle (usually but not always true) is that it’s better to use your 

honors to capture declarer’s high cards rather than “air” (low cards).   

Dummy (N) A.    Q43 B.   Q43 C.     Q103 D.   KQJ3 E.  KQ10 F.  KJ943 

West A65 K65 K65 A654 ??? A5 

South’s lead         2         2           2         2        2       Q 

 

Without knowing the entire hand and bidding, it’s impossible to claim that there is one correct 

play for each of these situations.  However, it’s useful to discuss the general principles and 

thought processes involved.  Assume that the contract is 3N.  

A.  Play low.  Suppose South has either K87 or J87.  Playing the Ace will let South get an 

undeserved extra trick. 

B.  Play low.  If South has J87, he will get no tricks if you play low.  If South has A87, he is 

entitled to 2 tricks.   

Dummy 

Declarer 

G.  ♣-102      

      ♣-QJ83 

H.  ♠AK432/♥432/♦AJ2/♣AQ 

      ♠QJ65/♥A65/♦93/♣10864 

Dummy 

Declarer 

I.  ♦-J54 

     ♦-A9(2)  

J.  ♦-J5 

    ♦-A92 

K.  ♦-QJ2  Contract:  4♠ 

      ♦-103  OL:  ♦4 
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C.  Play low.  If South has A87, he must guess who has the king.   

D.  Play low.  Look for partner’s count signal.  If there is an outside entry to dummy and declarer 

returns to his hand to lead toward dummy a second time, duck again.  If you play the ace, the 

first or second time, you are setting up dummy for 3 tricks.  If declarer started with only two 

cards in the suit, he will only get two diamonds if you duck both times.  

E.  This is a “lesson hand” for defenders  Suppose declarer started with 3 small cards in the suit.  

His hope is to win two tricks in the suit.  Assuming he has a re-entry to his hand, declarer will 

start by leading to the King.  If the A87 is behind the king, East must duck smoothly.  If East has 

the ace and wins it, he forces declarer to finesse on the second trick.  So declarer will return to 

hand, lead to dummy’s Q10 and must guess what to play.  The “rest of the story” is that when 

West holds A43, he must smoothly duck the first two times declarer leads toward the dummy, 

again making declarer guess what to play.   

F.  If there is an outside entry to dummy, always play the Ace,  You’re hoping partner has 10xxx.  

If there is no outside entry to dummy,  play low.  If declarer started with Q10 or Qx, you will 

hold him to 1 trick.  If you played the ace the first time, he would now get 4 tricks if he started 

with Q10 and 2 tricks if he started with Qx.  
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